Forum Mod Bakery Docs

New to modding - any pointers/advice for first project

Posted in Support
Please login to contribute to the conversation.
Hi everyone,

I'm Kieran. I have just started getting back into SHAR this year probably for the first time since I was kid and playing it on the old PS2 and it's so amazing to see a community and development team dedicated to creating mods for this amazing game. So far, I have played the SHAR Plus mod, Donut Mod 4 and Cops in Springfield and I loved every one of them.

So I was thinking of creating my own mod or two. I have no experience at all of creating mods for anything but have seen there are tutorials out there for this game which is great to see. As I used to play with my cousin I thought I could create one as a bit of a surprise for him. We used to watch Brooklyn Nine Nine a lot - proud to be fans since season 1. This might sound a bit stupid but I thought maybe I could create a Simpsons version of Jake Peralta and add him to the game - with quotes that I could trim and add in from the episodes.

Ideally, I think it would be cool to add him and replace him over Wiggum in the Cops in Springfield Mod so that Jake Peralta could free roam and do the missions within this mod. Initially, I would love just to create him and add his quotes in. I know cutscenes before missions would be strange with Wiggum's voice and the same for some missions where Wiggum says unique quotes for that particular mission but maybe that can be changed later down the line.

So in general, I'm not sure how do-able this is for someone very new to modding. Also whether it would be possible to create this mod over Colou's existing Cops in Springfield mod - is this possible? or forbidden here? If it isn't possible, I could create him for Level 2 of the original game and change the starting vehicle to the police car.