Forum Mod Bakery Docs

Modding help

Posted in Support
Please login to contribute to the conversation.
Ok so I'm new to this modding and stuff. I want to know, how difficult is the programming for modding? Can you pick it up easily or does it take a long time to learn? I don't have much coding knowledge. Also, which program do you use to mod?
Thanks.
Hmm, to be honest it's not all too hard, it's just about your willingness to learn and such, .MFK is a pretty easy language, it's just understanding and memorizing key things, matter of fact it's probably the easiest coding language i've used. Majority of code within MFK is self explanatory and tells you what it does itself, so for a newcomer it's pretty straight forward.

As for tools:
Notepad++ for making .MFK's (missions)
Lucas P3D Editor 4 (Editing Models and such)
Lucas Mod Launcher (Launchs your modification)
Lucas Car Shadow Editor (Edits the cars shadows)
Lucas RSD Converter (Importing/Exporting the games sound/music)
and of course all of Lucas' Hacks.

You're only ever gonna use .MFK for making missions, dealing with level coding and stuff of that nature (the backbone of SHAR), as for other kinds of modding no coding is required.

AddStage();
SetStageMessageIndex(3);
SetHUDIcon();
AddObjective("dump");
SetObjTargetVehicle("cBone");
   AddCollectible("drop1","bonestorm");
   AddCollectible("drop2","bonestorm");
SetCollectibleEffect();
CloseObjective();
CloseStage(); 

This is an example of some .MFK it's fairly straight forward and you'll be able to grasp what each of those functions does.
i.e AddObjective("dump"); tells the game this stage is going to be using a Hit and Collect objective

SetObjTargetVehicle("cBone"); tells the game that vehicle cBone (cars filename) is the vehicle you have to hit to collect the two items.
The items are shown here:
AddCollectible("drop1", "bonestorm");
AddCollectible("drop2", "bonestorm"); //Drop 1 and Drop2 are the locators for the item which drops out of the vehicle